Researchers

Prof Marius Smuts

Director
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 2086
  +27 18 299 2464
  Marius.Smuts@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 140, Potchefstroom Campus
Fatty acids and Micronutrients

Prof Johann Jerling

Professor
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 2481
  +27 18 299 2464
  Johann.Jerling@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 154, Potchefstroom Campus
Haemostasis, Leadership Development and Micronutrients

Prof Salomé Kruger

Professor
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 2482
  +27 18 299 2464
  Salome.Kruger@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 151, Potchefstroom Campus
Public Health Nutrition

Prof Marlien Pieters

Professor
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 2462
  +27 18 299 2464
  Marlien.Pieters@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 248, Potchefstroom Campus
Nutrition, Haemostasis and Cardiovascular diseases

Prof Lize Havemann-Nel

Ass Professor
Phd Exercise Science
  +27 18 299 2399
  +27 18 299 2464
  Lize.havemannnel@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 146, Potchefstroom Campus
Sports nutrition, community nutrition

Dr Robin Dolman

Senior Lecturer, Program Leader
PhD Dietetics
  +27 18 299 4059
  +27 18 299 2464
  Robin.Dolman@nwu.ac.za
  Buiding G16, Room 153, Potchefstroom Campus
Management of Critically-ill Patients, Hospital Malnutrition

Dr Tertia van Zyl

Senior Lecturer, Subject head
PhD Dietetics
  +27 18 299 2467
  +27 18 299 2464
  tertia.vanzyl@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 148, Potchefstroom Campus
Dietary assessment, food service management, nutrigenetics

Dr Jeannine Baumgartner

Senior Lecturer
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 4018
  +27 18 299 2464
  Jeannine.Baumgartner@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 243, Potchefstroom Campus
Fatty Acids and Micronutrients

Dr Cornelie Nienaber-Rousseau

Senior Lecturer
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 4169
  +27 18 299 2464
  cornelie.nienaber@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 254, Potchefstroom Campus
Nutrigenetics

Dr Martani Lombard

Senior Lecturer
PhD Dietetics
  +27 18 299 2085
  +27 18 299 2464
  tani.lombard@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 147, Potchefstroom Campus

Dr Linda Malan

Senior Lecturer
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 4237
  +27 18 299 2464
  Linda.Malan@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room159, Potchefstroom Campus
Management of Research Laboratory and Training

Dr Zelda de Lange

Senior Lecturer
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 285 2292
  +27 18 299 2464
  Zelda.deLange@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 247, Potchefstroom Campus
Haemostasis and Lipids

Dr Mariaan Wicks

Lecturer
PhD Dietetics
  +27 18 299 2468
  +27 18 299 2464
  13009494@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 156, Potchefstroom Campus
Nutrient profiling, obesity prevention food labelling

Mrs Arista Nienaber

Lecturer
MSc Dietetics
  +27 18 299 2461
  +27 18 299 2464
  Arista.nienaber@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 152, Potchefstroom Campus
Therapeutic nutrition: specifically critical care, immunonutrition & nutrition in infectious disease e.g. TB, Sports nutrition

Mrs Cornelia Conradie

Lecturer
MSc Dietetics
  +27 18 299 2461
  +27 18 299 2464
  Cornelia.conradie@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 152, Potchefstroom Campus
Nutrition and child behaviour and cognition

Mrs Chantell Witten

Senior Lecturer
MSc Nutrition Management
  +27 18 299 2473
  +27 18 299 2464
  Chantell.witten@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 144, Potchefstroom Campus
Breastfeeding, Infant and Young Child Feeding, Nutrition Education & Behaviour Change Communication

Ms Theodorah Modise

Lecturer
MSc Dietetics
  +27 18 299 4037
  +27 18 299 2464
  20809964@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 157, Potchefstroom Campus
Food Service Management, Food safety & Hygiene, Food Security

Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr Christine Taljaard

Post Doctoral Fellow
PhD Dietetics
  +27 18 285 2672
  +27 18 299 2464
  Christine.Taljaard@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 253, Potchefstroom Campus

Dr Lizelle Zandberg

Post Doctoral Fellow
PhD Biochemistry
  +27 18 2852672
  +27 18 299 2464
  Lizelle.Zandberg@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 253, Potchefstroom Campus
Genetics, Functional Pathway Analysis, Introductory Bioinformatics

Dr Cristian Ricci

Post Doctoral Fellow
PhD Biomedical Statistics
  +27 18 285 2672
  +27 18 299 2464
  Cristian.Ricci@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 253, Potchefstroom Campus
Nutritional Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Dr Marinel Rothman

Post Doctoral Fellow
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 4036
  +27 18 299 2464
  Marinel.Rothman@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 141, Potchefstroom Campus
Infant Nutritional Status, Dietary Intake and Psychomotor Development

Dr Patricia Ukegbu

Post Doctoral Fellow
PhD Nutrition
  +27 18 299 2482
  +27 18 299 2464
  30249864@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 246, Potchefstroom Campus
Human Nutrition and Dietetics

Support staff

Mrs Ronel Benson

Senior Administrative Assistant
  +27 18 299 2087
  +27 18 299 2464
  Ronel.Benson@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 141, Potchefstroom Campus

Mrs Henriëtte Claasen

Financial Officer
  +27 18 299 4063
  +27 18 299 2464
  22896589@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 141, Potchefstroom Campus

Mrs Cecile Cooke

Senior Laboratory Technician
  +27 18 299 2469
  +27 18 299 2464
  Cecile.Cooke@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 163, Potcehfstroom Campus

Mr Adriaan Jacobs

Senior Laboratory Technician
MSc Biochemistry
  +27 18 299 2469
  +27 18 299 2464
   13062778@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 163, Potchefstroom Campus

Sr Chrissie Lessing

Manager: Metabolic Unit
Registered Professional Nurse
  +27 18 299 2480
  +27 18 299 2464
  Chrissie.Lessing@nwu.ac.za
  Building G17, Room G26, Potchefstroom Campus

Ms Elizabeth Mosolodi

Laboratory Helper
Grade 11
  +27 18 299 2466
  +27 18 299 2464
  22557253@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 144, Potchefstroom Campus

Mrs Noloyiso Matiwane

Senior Laboratory Technician
MTech
  +27 18 299 2475
  +27 18 299 2464
  20992262@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 150, Potchefstroom Campus
Food service management

Mr Thabang Phinda

Research Assistant
  +27 18 299 4018
  +27 18 299 2464
  Phinda.Phinda@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 245, Potchefstroom Campus

Ms Mary Sennelo

Research Assistant
  +27 18 299 2480
  +27 18 299 2464
  23297255@nwu.ac.za
  Building G17, Room G26, Potchefstroom Campus