Psychology

Mrs Baaqira Kays Ebrahim

Junior Lecturer
BA Hons. (Psychology) – Currently busy with Masters (Psychology)
  +27 16 910 3424
  baaqira.ebrahim@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 120, Vaal Triangle Campus

Mrs Cheryl Petersen

Lecturer
BA (Psychology); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Research Psychology); MA (Counselling Psychology); Higher Diploma in Education
  +27 18 299 1482
  +27 18 285 2213
  Cheryl.Petersen@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room K11, Potchefstroom Campus
Developmental Psychology and Social Psychology

Mr Christiaan Bekker

Lecturer
BA, BA Hons Theology, BA Hons Psychology, MA Positive Psychology
  +27 16 910 3418
  christiaan.bekker@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 121, Vaal Triangle Campus
Positive Psychology

Dr Elmari Deacon

Lecturer
BCom (Industrial psychology); BCom (Hons) Psychology; MA (Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1728
  +27 18 285 2213
  Elmari.Deacon@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 122, Potchefstroom Campus
Positive Psychology, Therapy with children, Psycho-social adjustment to diabetes management

Prof Esmé van Rensburg

Professor
PhD (Child Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1727
  +27 18 285 2213
  Esme.VanRensburg@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room K15, Potchefstroom Campus
Child Psychopathology, Child Psychotherapy, Psychological Evaluation of children, families from divorce and Ethics.

Mrs Florinah Sizane

Lecturer
HDE; BA; BED, BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology)
  +27 18 299 2569
  +27 18 285 2213
  Florinah.Sizane@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G27, Potchefstroom Campus
Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy with special interest in parent-adolescent relations, individual and couple therapy

Dr Hanelie Malan

Senior lecturer
BA (Social Work); BA Honeurs (Psychology); MA (Industrial Psychology); PhD (Social Work)
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 87 231 5483
  Hanelie.Malan@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 208, Potchefstroom Campus
The psychosocial health of individuals, groups and communities with special reference to social work with children and Oncology.

Dr Hayley Walker-Williams

Senior Lecturer
PhD Psychology (NWU)
  +27 16 910 3416
  hayley.williams@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 119, Vaal Triangle Campus
Intervention research; qualitative research; strengths-based interventions(post-traumatic growth in women survivors of childhood sexual abuse)

Mrs Heleen Coetzee

Senior Lecturer
BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology); MA (Communication Studies); B.Bk; NGOS.
  +27 18 299 2294
  +27 18 285 2213
  Heleen.Coetzee@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 124, Potchefstroom Campus
Child Evaluations, Therapy and Pathology, Developmental Psychology, Positive Psychology: Meaningfulness of Adolescent Therapy and Pathology.

Ms Janine van Aardt

Lecturer
BSc (Physiology & Psychology); BSc (Hons) Psychology; MSc (Research Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1387
  +27 18 285 2213
  20556888@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G28, Potchefstroom Campus
Qualitative Research, Gerontology and later-life stages and Project Management

Prof Johan Potgieter

Professor / Subject Chair
BSc (Psychology & Physiology); MSc (Clinical Psychology); PhD (Psychology).
  +27 18 285 2389
  +27 18 285 2213
  Johan.Potgieter@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 131, Potchefstroom Campus
Positive psychology; Strengths-based interventions; Resilience; Adventure- and Nature-based interventions.

Prof Karel Botha

Professor
BA (Psychology); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1726
  +27 18 285 2213
  Karel.Botha@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 125, Potchefstroom Campus
Clinical Psychology, specifically self-regulatory and adaptive behavioural systems.

Dr Karen van der Merwe

Senior Lecturer
BA, B Ed, BA Hons (Psych), M Ed (Teacher training) M Ed (Educational Psychology), PhD, HED, Registered Educational Psychologist
  +27 16 910 3417
  karen.vandermerwe@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 123 , Vaal Triangle Campus
Psychology of Religion, Community Psychology, Qualitative research

Mrs Lelanie Malan

Lecturer
BSc (Psychology and Physiology); BSc (Hons) Psychology; NGOS; MSc (Clinical Psychology); MSc (Research Psychology)
  +27 18 285 2571
  +27 18 285 2213
  Lelanie.Malan@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room G25, Potchefstroom Campus
Interested in Qualitative research methodology, Gerontology, Project Management, Child and Adult Pathology and Psychotherapy, Family dynamics, Trauma and Affect regulation theory.

Dr Ruan Spies

Senior Lecturer
BA (Communication Studies); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology); PhD (Developmental Psychology)
  +27 18 285 2388
  +27 18 285 2213
  Ruan.Spies@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 121, Potchefstroom Campus
Adult Psychopathology and Attachment Theory

Ms Sarah Niemand

Senior Lecturer
BA (Psychology); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1724
  +27 18 285 2213
  Sarah.Niemand@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G16, Potchefstroom Campus
Teaching and Learning, Clinical Practice: Psychological Evaluation and Psychotherapy (adults, adolescents and children).

Mrs Shaheda Khota

Lecturer
MA Clinical Psychology
  +27 16 910 3504
  shaheda.khota@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 112, Vaal Triangle Campus

Dr Tamlynn Jefferis

Senior Lecturer
PhD Psychology; MA Research Psychology; Hons Psychology; BA Psychology and English
  +27 16 910 3414
  tamlynn.jefferis@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 122, Vaal Triangle Campus
Social Research

Mrs Tasleem Sayed

Lecturer
BA (Social Work), B.A Honours (Psychology) MA (Social Work), Currently busy with an M.A in Positive Psychology.
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 (087) 231 5483
  Tasleem.Hassim@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 204, Potchefstroom Campus
Resilience studies

Dr Tertia Oosthuizen

Senior Lecturer
Higher Diploma in Education; BA; BA (Hons) Industrial Psychology; MA (Industrial Psychology); MA (Counselling Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 2132
  +27 18 285 2213
  Tertia.Oosthuizen@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 128, Potchefstroom Campus
The Psychosocial Health of individuals, groups and communities including women exposed to violence, trauma, management development and positive interventions.

Dr Werner de Klerk

Senior Lecturer
BA (Human Movement Sciences and Psychology); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Research Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1725
  +27 18 285 2213
  Werner.DeKlerk@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G24, Potchefstroom Campus
Qualitative Research Methodology; Well-being of schools (school climate from Psychological perspective)