Psychology

Mrs Baaqira Kays Ebrahim

Lecturer
MA (Psychology)
  +27 16 910 3424
  baaqira.ebrahim@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Room 118, Vanderbijlpark Campus

Ms Cheryl Petersen

Lecturer
M.A. Research Psychology; M.A. Counselling Psychology; HDE (P/G)
  +27 18 299 1482
  Cheryl.Petersen@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room K11, Potchefstroom Campus
Interests in various aspects of Developmental Psychology, Psychological assessments, Career counselling and psychotherapy.

Mr Christiaan Bekker

Lecturer; Group Deputy Leader
BA, BA Hons Theology, BA Hons Psychology, MA Positive Psychology
  +27 16 910 3418
  christiaan.bekker@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 121, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Academic boredom, Well-being, Positive Psychological Interventions, LGBTQI+

Prof Elmari Deacon

Associate Professor; Group Leader
PhD, MA (Clinical Psychology), Hons (Psychology), BComm (Industrial Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1728
  +27 18 285 2213
  Elmari.Deacon@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 122, Potchefstroom Campus
Child therapy, Positive Psychology, Adjustment to diabetes management

Prof Esmé van Rensburg

Professor
PhD (Child Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1727
  +27 18 285 2213
  Esme.VanRensburg@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room K15, Potchefstroom Campus
Child Psychopathology, Child Psychotherapy, Psychological Evaluation of children, families from divorce and Ethics.

Mrs Florinah Sizane

Lecturer
HDE; BA; BED, BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology)
  +27 18 299 2569
  +27 18 285 2213
  Florinah.Sizane@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G27, Potchefstroom Campus
Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy with special interest in parent-adolescent relations, individual and couple therapy

Prof Hayley Walker-Williams

Associate Professor, Deputy Director: School of Psychosocial Health
PhD Psychology (NWU)
  +27 16 910 3416
  hayley.williams@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 119, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Intervention research; qualitative research; strengths-based interventions(post-traumatic growth in women survivors of childhood sexual abuse)

Mrs Heleen Coetzee

Senior Lecturer
BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology); MA (Communication Studies); B.Bk; NGOS.
  +27 18 299 2294
  +27 18 285 2213
  Heleen.Coetzee@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 124, Potchefstroom Campus
Child Evaluations, Therapy and Pathology, Developmental Psychology, Positive Psychology: Meaningfulness of Adolescent Therapy and Pathology.

Dr Ingrid Opperman

Senior Lecturer
MA Research Psychology (Wits), PhD Psychology (Wits)
  +27 18 299 2698
  ingrid.opperman@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G16, Potchefstroom Campus
Research methods, psychometrics, and cognitive psychology

Prof Johan Potgieter

Professor / Subject Chair
BSc (Psychology and Physiology), MSc (Clinical Psychology), PhD (Psychology
  +27 18 299 1731
  +27 18 299 1730
  johan.potgieter@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 131, Potchefstroom Campus
Optimal functioning of individuals, groups and communities. I have a specific focus on the facilitation of resilience and psychological strengths by means of Adventure or Nature-assisted Therapy.

Prof Karel Botha

Professor
BA (Psychology); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1726
  +27 18 285 2213
  Karel.Botha@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 125, Potchefstroom Campus
Clinical Psychology, specifically self-regulatory and adaptive behavioural systems.

Dr Karen van der Merwe

Senior Lecturer
BA, B Ed, BA Hons (Psych), M Ed (Teacher training) M Ed (Educational Psychology), PhD, HED, Registered Educational Psychologist
  +27 16 910 3417
  karen.vandermerwe@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 123 , Vanderbijlpark Campus
Psychology of Religion, Community Psychology, Qualitative research

Mrs Lelanie Malan

Senior Lecturer
MSc (Clin Psych) (Cum Laude); MSc (Research Psych) (NWU Potchefstroom); PGCE (Cum Laude) (Stellenbosch University) BSc (Hon Psych); BSc (Psych)
  +27 18 285 2571
  +27 18 285 2213
  Lelanie.Malan@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room G25, Potchefstroom Campus
Interested in Neuropsychology and Research methodology

Ms Mianda Erasmus

Lecturer: Programme Leader
BMus; BMus Hons; BA Hons (Psychology); BA Hons (Language studies: French); MA (Research Psychology); MA (French: Teaching French as a Foreign Language)
  +27 18 389 2334
  Mianda.Erasmus@nwu.ac.za
  Ipelegeng Centre, Room 1.1, Mahikeng
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning: supporting first years, large classes, use of technology, excellent teaching on tertiary level.

Ms Nadene Harisunker

Lecturer
MA Clinical Psychology
  +27 16 910 3417
  Nadene.harisunker@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Room 121, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Severe Psychopathology, Trauma and impacts Psychopharmacology, Personality Disorders, Theoretical Perspectives

Dr Petro Erasmus

Senior Lecturer
PhD Educational Psychology
  +27 18 389 2386
  +27 18 389 2424
  Petro.erasmus@nwu.ac.za
  Ipelegeng 1.5, Mahikeng
Neurodevelopmental Disorders

Ms Refilwe Gloria Pila-Nemutandani

Senior Lecturer; Group Deputy Leader
Masters in Clinical Psychology
  +27 18 389 2828
  +27 18 389 2424
  25880098@nwu.ac.za
  Ipelegeng Child and Family Centre, Room 1.6, Mahikeng
Neurodevelopmental disorders(ADHD)

Dr Ruan Spies

Senior Lecturer
BA (Communication Studies); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Clinical Psychology); PhD (Developmental Psychology)
  +27 18 285 2388
  +27 18 285 2213
  Ruan.Spies@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 121, Potchefstroom Campus
Adult Psychopathology and Attachment Theory

Mrs Shaheda Khota

Lecturer
MA Clinical Psychology
  +27 16 910 3504
  shaheda.khota@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 112, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Psychological Assessment, Child, adolescent and adult psychotherapy, Parenting programmes for behavioural disorders

Ms Shanaé Theunissen

Lecturer
MA Clinical Psychology
  22329390@nwu.ac.za
  7, 108 C,, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Trauma Fortology

Dr Tamlynn Jefferis

Senior Lecturer
PhD Psychology; MA Research Psychology; Hons Psychology; BA Psychology and English
  +27 16 910 3414
  tamlynn.jefferis@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 122, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Social Research

Ms Tebello Mabusela

Lecturer
B. Social Work, B. Soc. Sc (Hons) Psychology, MA Counselling Psychology
  +27 18 299 2610
  Tebello.mabusela@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G28, Potchefstroom Campus
Psycho-social resilience, positive well-being & successful adaptation of individuals, groups and communities.

Dr Tertia Oosthuizen

Senior Lecturer
Higher Diploma in Education; BA; BA (Hons) Industrial Psychology; MA (Industrial Psychology); MA (Counselling Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 2132
  +27 18 299 1730
  Tertia.Oosthuizen@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 128, Potchefstroom Campus
Positive Psychology, Trauma Intervention, Violence against women and children

Prof Vicki Koen

Associate Professor; COMPRES Research Coordinator
PhD Psychology, MA Research Psychology, MA Psychology, MA Positive Psychology, B Psych Practicum, Honours Psychology, BA Psychology & Communication
  018 389 2237
  12976121@nwu.ac.za
  Ipelegeng (F3), Room 1.4, Mahikeng
Research Psychology; Positive Psychology

Dr Werner de Klerk

Senior Lecturer
BA (Human Movement Sciences and Psychology); BA (Hons) Psychology; MA (Research Psychology); PhD (Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1725
  +27 18 285 2213
  12998699@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G24, Potchefstroom Campus
Qualitative Research Methodology; Well-being of schools (school climate from Psychological perspective)

Mr Xander Flemming

Lecturer
B.Psych; M.Soc.Sc (Counselling Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1621
  xander.flemming@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G23, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom Campus
HIV/AIDS, Public/Psychosocial Health, Sexual Well-being and Health, LGBTQI+, Human Sexuality, Sensitization. Interested in Community Psychology, Queer Theory, Sexology, Social Psychology and Developmental Psychology.