Social work

Prof Alida Herbst

Director: School of Psychosocial Health
BA (Social Work); MA (Social Work with specialization in Play Therapy); PhD (Social Work).
  +27 18 299 4079
  +27 18 299 1730
  Alida.Herbst@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room G19, Potchefstroom Campus
The Psychosocial Health of individuals, groups and communities with special reference to adaptation after trauma and loss.

Prof. Ansie Fouché

Associate Professor
DPhil Social Work (UP)
  +27 16 910 3428
  ansie.fouche@nwu.ac.za
  Building 9A; Office G192, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Intervention research; qualitative research; strengths-based interventions (resilience and post-traumatic growth)

Prof Cornelia Wessels

Associate Professor
BA (Social Work); MA (Social Work); PhD (Social Work)
  +27 18 299 1683
  +27 87 231 5483
  Cornelia.Wessels@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 214, Potchefstroom Campus
Forensic Social Work, Family and Marriage Therapy, HIV/AIDS

Dr Elizabeth Smith

Senior Lecturer, Deputy Director: School of Psychosocial Health
BA (Social Work), MA (Social Work) & PhD (Social Work)
  +27 18 389 2459
  Elizabeth.Smit@nwu.ac.za
  Block A, Room 207,

Prof Elma Ryke

Professor / Subject Chair
BA (Social Work); Post Grad Dipl. in Philosophy; MA (Mental Health); PhD (Social Work).
  +27 18 299 1687
  +27 87 231 5483
  Elma.Ryke@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 207, Potchefstroom Campus
Psychosocial well-being in households and communities, environmental strengths, policy & practice, substance abuse.

Dr Elmien Truter

Senior Lecturer
BA (social work) - Stellenbosch University; MA (Forensic practice) - NWU Potchefstroom campus; PhD (resilience in child protection social workers) NWU VTC
  +27 16 910 3505
  elmien.truter@nwu.ac.za
  Building 9A, Office G17.6, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Child protection social work

Dr Elzahne Simeon

Lecturer
BA (Social Work), MA (Social Work ), Phd (Social Work)
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 87 231 5483
  Elzahne.Simeon@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 212, Potchefstroom Campus
Legislation regarding children

Mrs Fatima Mmusi

Lecturer
BA ( Social Work) MA ( Clinical Social Work)
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 (087) 231 5483
  Fatima.Mmusi@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 215, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom Campus
Child & youth care Protection- specializing in youth presenting with challenging behaviour.

Dr Johan Steytler

Senior Lecturer, Programme Leader
BSW, MA (Family systems and mentorship), PhD (Mentorship), BA Hons (Industrial Psychology: Graduate 2018)
  +27 16 910 3437
  johan.steytler@nwu.ac.za
  Building 9A, Office G19.3 (G17), Vanderbijlpark Campus, Vanderbijlpark Campus
Specialisation in mentorship, family relationships & structures and social work with children and youth.

Dr Marie Ubbink

Senior Lecturer
BA(SW), BeD (Orto -pedagogic), MA (Sociology), PhD (SW)
  +27 18 299 1235
  Marie.Ubbink@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 217, Potchefstroom Campus
Teaching social group work method to undergraduate students; Research in child protection, narrative approach and group work.

Prof Mike Weyers

Programme Manager: B.SW.
BA (Social Work), Honns. BA (Social Work), UDK (Post-graduate diploma in communication science), MA (Social Work); D. Phil. (Social Work).
  +27 18 299 1681
  +27 (087) 231 5483
  Mike.Weyers@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 203, Potchefstroom Campus
Community work, community development & social development.

Prof Ngeniswe(Ngeni) Henrietta Ntombela

Associate Professor
D Phil(Social Work) UNIZULU; Masters in Medical Science Social Work(UKZN);BASW(HONS)UNIZULU; BA(Psychology)(HONS)UNIZULU);BASW(UL);Certificate in Project Management(Boston University) ;Certificate at Masters Level on Short Course in Service Learning(SCSL)
  +27 18 389 2350
  Ngenisiwe.Ntombela@nwu.ac.za
  Block A, Office 201, Mahikeng
Supervision of Masters and PHD’s, School Social Work, Social Policy, Employee Assistance and Wellness Programme, Gender and Gender Based Violence, Community work & Community Development, Service Learning, Trauma Counselling

Ms Olebogeng Tladi

Junior Lecture
Master of Social Work
  +27 18 389 2454
  Olebogeng.Tladi@nwu.ac.za
  ADC Building Block B, Office 235, Mahikeng

Dr Pieter Boshoff

Lecturer
MA (Social Work) (Cum Laude), PhD (Social Work)
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 87 231 5483
  Pieter.Bosshoff@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 216, Potchefstroom Campus
Military trauma (South African Police Service)

Dr Roslind Mokwele

Senior Lecturer
PhD Social Work
  +27 18 299 1684
  12166456@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 216 , Potchefstroom Campus
Developmental Social Work and Developmental Social Welfare Policy.

Dr Sufran Smith

Lecturer
BA (Social Work), MA (Forensic Practice) (Cum Laude); PhD (Social Work).
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 87 231 5483
  Sufran.Smith@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 218, Potchefstroom Campus
Forensic social work

Mrs Tasleem Sayed

Senior Lecturer
BA (Social Work), BA Honours (Psychology) MA (Social Work), MA (Positive Psychology)
  +27 18 299 1676
  +27 (087) 231 5483
  20062621@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, Room 204, Potchefstroom Campus
Menatl health, well-being, human resilience and covid-19

Ms Tiisetso Tshehle

Lecturer
MA Social Work
  +27 16 910 3567
  Tiisetso.Tshehle@nwu.ac.za

Ms Tracy Mkwanazi

Junior Lecturer
B Social Work
  +27 16 910 3560
  tracy.mkwanazi@nwu.ac.za
  Building 9A, Office G17.2, Vanderbijlpark Campus

Prof Wim Roestenburg

Professor
B Soc Sc (Social Work), MA (Clinical Social Work) (Cum Laude); D Litt et Phil (Social Work)
  +27 18 285 2270
  +27 (087) 231 5483
  Wim.Roestenburg@nwu.ac.za
  Building E8, room 205, Potchefstroom Campus
Ecometrics, Scale development, Social Indicators, Research Methods