Staff

Director's Office

  Prof Petra Bester

  Director
  +27 18 299 2095
  petra.bester@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 257B, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Transdisciplinary approaches to strengthen South African public health systems.

  Ms Terzie Denton

  Secretary to the Director
  +27 18 299 2094
  terzie.denton@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 257A, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom

  Ms Juanita Brits

  Administrative Assistant
  +27 18 299 2641
  juanita.brits@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 257D, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom

Transdisciplinary Research

  Dr Christi Niesing

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 2098
  christi.niesing@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 258, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Sustainable community development.

  Prof Lanthé Kruger

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 2093
  lanthe.kruger@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 260, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Epidemiology, non-communicable diseases and cardiovascular health promotion

  Prof Cristian Ricci

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1721
  Building G16, Room , Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom, Potchefstroom
  Biostatistics and Epidemiology

  Ms Joyce Matsietso

  Admininstrative Assistant in the CIR-office
  +27 18 299 2512
  joyce.matsietso@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 262, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom

Positive Psychology

  Prof Lusilda Schutte

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1104
  lusilda.schutte@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 267, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Positve psychology, psychofortology, psychosocial health, psychological assessment, psychometrics.

  Dr Christelle Liversage

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 2519
  christelle.liversage@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 263, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Positive psychology, training and development, wellness promotion.

Consumer Sciences

   Prof Annchen Mielmann

  Researcher (NRF rating category: Y2)
  +27 18 299 2474
  Building F15, Room 112, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Food, sensory and consumer sciences

  Prof Daleen van der Merwe

  Researcher (NRF rating category: C2)
  +27 18 299 2476
  daleen.vandermerwe@nwu.ac.za
  Building F15, Room 110, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Consumer decision making, consumer information sources and information acquisition.

Secondary Researchers

  Prof Minrie Greeff

  Research Integrity Officer of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research & Innovation
  minrie.greeff@nwu.ac.za
  Research integrity, health research ethics and qualitative research methodology consult and research

  Prof Wayne Towers

  Associate professor, Head of the Health Research Ethics Office and researcher
  +27 18 285 2291
  wayne.towers@gmail.com
  Building G16, Room 136 B, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Human molecular genetics, population genetics, research ethics.

Extraordinary appointments

   Dr Angelina Wilson-Fadiji

  Research Specialist
  wilson.angelina1311@gmail.com
  Mental health promotion, health promotion, adolescent mental health, quantitative and qualitative research, structural equation modeling, psychology of adolescents, positive psychology.

  Prof Beth Engelbrecht

  Extraordinary Appointment
  beth@tshephe.co.za
  Health systems and health system governance

  Prof Binu Luke

  Extraordinary Appointment
  Head of Clinical Services (North West), clinical teaching, clinical management, project planning and implementation, medical regulation and provision of specialist clinical services in Internal Medicine

   Dr Izanette van Schalkwyk

  Researcher
  izanette@telkomsa.net
  Programmes or interventions for adolescents and families to encourage personal, relational and collective well-being.

   Prof Markus Depfenhart

  Plastic and Aesthetic Surgeon; Researcher
  dr@drdepfenhart.de
  Germany, Potchefstroom
  Aesthetic and regenerative medicine; plastic surgery; emergency medicine; protein and peptide design; skin; skincare; IP and IP law; business and management; stem cells; medical devices.

  Prof Marié Wissing

  Senior Researcher; Extraordinary Appointment.
  +27 18 299 1721
  marie.wissing@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 255, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Positive psychology, psychofortology, psychosocial health and strengths.

Postdoctoral Fellows

   Dr Amanda Cromhout

  Postdoctoral Fellow
  amanda.cromhout@nwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 270, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  Positive psychology, measurement of psychosocial wellbeing.

  Dr Hannah Ricci

  Postdoctoral Fellow
  29220114@mynwu.ac.za
  Building G16, Room 267, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom, Potchefstroom
  Nutrition, Epidemiology and Public Health